Urdu ,historically (spelled Ordu) is a Central Indo-Aryan language of the Indo-Iranian branch, belonging to the Indo-European family of languages. It is the official language of Pakistan. Its vocabulary developed under Sanskrit and Persian and to a lesser degree the Arabic and Turkic influence on apabhramshas. It began to take shape during the Delhi Sultanate and Mughal Empire (AD 1526–1858) in South Asia.

Urdu is a standardised register of Hindustani termed the standard dialect Khariboli.The grammatical description in this article concerns this standard Urdu. In general, the term "Urdu" can encompass dialects of Hindustani other than the standardised versions.The original language of the Mughals had been Turkish, but after their arrival in South Asia, they came to adopt Persian and later Urdu. The word Urdu is believed to be derived from the Turkish, word 'Ordu', which means army encampment. It was initially called Zaban-e-Ordu or language of the army and later just Urdu. It obtained its name from Urdu Bazar, i.e. encampment (Urdu in Turkish) market, the market near Red Fort in the walled city of Delhi.

Standard Urdu has approximately the twentieth largest population of native speakers, among all languages. It is the national language of Pakistan as well as being a partly-spoken and one of 23 official languages of India.

Urdu is often contrasted with Hindi, another standardised form of Hindustani.The main differences between the two are that Standard Urdu is conventionally written in Nastaliq calligraphy style of the Perso-Arabic script and draws vocabulary more heavily from Persian and Arabic than Hindi,while Standard Hindi is conventionally written in Devanāgarī and draws vocabulary from Sanskrit comparatively more heavily.Some linguists nonetheless consider Urdu and Hindi to be two standardized forms of the same language;however, others classify them separately due to sociolinguistic differences.


Make a Free Website with Yola.